Recently, the conservative government has introduced the English Baccalaureate, mirroring the International Baccalaureate, a system currently employed by a number of European countries.

There were plans to introduce a special English Baccalaureate certificate to replace traditional GCSE’s, however, this has now been scrapped. Put simply, the EBacc is a list of subjects students are encouraged to study.
These subjects include:

  • English
  • Math’s
  • The Sciences (including Computer Science)
  • Geography or History
  • A Foreign Language

Selecting these subjects for a students GCSE choices will reflect well on a prospective candidate and provide them a good foundation to enter higher institutions of learning.